Invictus – William Ernest Henley

Posted: February 11, 2006 in Arbit Thoughts

William HenleyOut of the night that covers me,
Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul
In the fell clutch of circumstances
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of change
My head is bloody, but unbowed.
Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the year
Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.
It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul

William E Henley

UNCOMMON KNOWLEDGE:
While in the hospital facing the amputation of his second foot (he had already lost one as a child), Henley befriended author Robert Louis Stevenson, and they collaborated on a few plays. Henley is actually the basis for Stevenson’s famous character Long John Silver from the novel Treasure Island.
Some times, some lines, with some words, some very ordinary words , yeild but such extra-ordinary strength! Its truly astonishing. At other times caricatures, drawn in pencil, in a comical way, in such a simplistic fashion, make so much sense.I am refering here to my favourite takes amongst all cartoon characters. I am referring to the inscrutable duo of Calvin & Hobbes Calvin’s Take on this:Master of my fate Another one : so very simply expresses the quintessence of human self-centered psychoPull the sled up

Leave a Reply

